Heres to the future…..Come on you reds!!!!!

Good morning gooners.

We have our last game today and I’m looking forward to a real party. I might have mentioned this before but I love going to football. Theres nothing to play for today for either team so I’m looking forward to a great end of the season game. We lost to them earlier in the season away due to a rubbish team selection – Arsene decided that playing all our tall players and not having a balanced team ourself was the way forward!!!!!!!! We need to show them why we are fourth from the top . Tall players pah!!!!!!!! Lots of goals please – something to cheer about.

When the fixtures list was announced my son – always looking for some drama – decided that if the top four were close together the games today could be interesting. My favourite was that Liverpool could win the title and send the spuds down, only problem was that we would need the spuds to beat Liverpool so that we could win the title……………dream on. Who would have thought the most exciting games today are going to be about who gets relegated. Newcastle and Boro are both away and Hull are at home to the Mancs – not easy to call any of those.  I’m putting my money on Newcastle to escape but its not that interesting quite frankly.

My first thoughts this morning were, after today, how many weeks until I’m catching the train to Finsbury Park  again – 10 weeks………OMG 10 whole weeks of no Arsenal football, just rumours and speculation and something missing……….Thank goodness for blog sites eh.

Have a lovely day everyone – due to some madness in my life I am going to THOF today to cheer on my team and boy am I looking forward to savouring every one of those 90 minutes.

COME ON YOU REDS………………

About peachesgÖÖner

Garden Designer Mum Enjoys Red Wine, Sunshine and playing with plants
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

216 Responses to Heres to the future…..Come on you reds!!!!!

  1. peachesgooner says:

    Morning all

    I’ll be around for a while but as the weather is gorgeous I really want to be outside 🙂

    Anyone want to pick a team for today – Fabianski is in, Nasri and Ade are out…….

  2. Big Raddy says:

    Morning Peaches.

    10 weeks!! It is just too much.

    Looking forward to today and see no reason as to why AW should play a weakened team. I think he may experiment with formation, but otherwise it’ll be a ‘normal’ team.

    I read elsewhere of some chaps thinking Gibbs should keep hi place upon Clichy’s return. IMO, Clichy is a fine player, and despite a few awful mistakes this season , he remains the best LB in the EPL. (Evra?… MU!).

    What do you think?

    Copenhagen Marathon today. Always good fun. And the Monaco GP, which conveniently finishes at 4. A good days sport.

    I am deeply envious of your trip to THOF. I always enjoyed the end of season jamboree. Do people still dress up in fancy-dress, or was that just a Clock End thing?

    Have a Peroni on me….

  3. peachesgooner says:

    Hi raddy

    Not sure about dressing-up but I’m looking forward to enjoying some Peroni for you and everyone else that can’t be there today…….

    I really rate Clichy too, I think he took on a lot of responsibility earlier in the season when Gallas and Toure were not working well together – this meant that he had to do more than just his job which led to errors.

    Saying that, I’m thrilled at the job Gibbs has come in and done – he’ll be a fine player for us too i reckon.

  4. Rasputin says:

    Morning peaches, a joyous post – fuelled by the excitement no doubt that you are going to the game. You’ll have to cheer twice as loud for the rest of us – I’ll supply the throat lozenges 😉

  5. peachesgooner says:

    Morning rasp – I don’t like honey and lemon ones 😛

    I have to be a garden designer for a while……busy life….. 😆

  6. rico01 says:

    Hi guys and gals

    Rasp, do you know this chap 😉

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Basil_D%27Oliveira

  7. rico01 says:

    Nice read peaches, bet you are pleased not to be missing the game today – factor 50 dont forget… 😉

  8. Rasputin says:

    Hi rico,

    Of course, the whole D’Olivera / apartheid thing was going on when I first got interested in cricket. It was SA’s refual to let him tour with the England part that led to the boycott of sport in SA. Do you remember Zola Budd, coming over and eventually qualifying to run for GB? – but then she won nothing 😦

  9. rico01 says:

    Hi Rasp

    Our mutual friend and I were talking about cricket the other day, and he said you would know all about this – I didnt realise he played at your club though 😉

    Zola ‘no shoes’ Budd – Didnt she knock over some American woman once who was fav to win the race, many many tears 😉

  10. rico01 says:

    off tofind some sunshine – catch you all later, enjoy the game 🙂

  11. Rasputin says:

    Yes, that’s right rico, I think it was an american runner she tripped 😉

  12. peachesgooner says:

    Hello

    I’m back – lovely day – very nice goals – Robin deserved a hat-trick – great first-half but the second half was disappointing 😦

  13. kelsey says:

    Morning all,

    as long as we play the intricate wengerball passing game,we will be better off without the likes of ade and nicci,who invariably finish up on the flanks.the invinsibles,spain,barca and united have been pretty successful without a main “big” front man.we are pretty useless at crossing and have better opportunities with the ball on the ground.

    For the first time this season i haven’t seen the game at all.Sky went kaput last night,so all i saw was the goals.

    Why did Walcott come off at half time ?

  14. Rasputin says:

    Morning Kelsey,

    You’re right that we are rubbish at crossing. I asked why we don’t fire the ball low and hard into the box instead of Sagna floating balls over that are easily intercepted….low and behold, that’s what Cesc did and it led to goal number one. We have to put the ball in the danger areas more quickly and our clever mobile players need to get into the box with the ball at their feet = RVP penalty yesterday.

  15. peachesgooner says:

    Morning rasp and all

    I agree entirely about putting the ball in low and hard – its an ‘anything can happen scenario’ which doesn’t fit into the ‘walking he ball into the net scenario’. Imagine if Cesc and Robin got disapproving looks for playing that kind of football………

    Own goals and penalties – is that the way to win games?

  16. peachesgooner says:

    Just being controversial 😉

  17. Rasputin says:

    There is nothing wrong with putting the ball low into the box and god forbid a player would make a run at the near post….that’s far too easy a way to score a goal 😦

    Freddie and Ian Wright weren’t too proud to score simple goals. There’s room for all strategies – we just focus on one too heavily.

  18. peachesgooner says:

    rasp – I agree – i just reckon that Arsene doesn’t 😉

    If you ever want to change your name I’m offering ‘spellcheck’ as an option or theres always ‘gobshite’ 😆

  19. Rasputin says:

    How about Dicktionary 😛

  20. Irishgunner says:

    Hello all – great win yesterday, well kinda, second half was a bit meh but 4-1 any day of the week for me.

  21. peachesgooner says:

    Hi Irish

    Yep, most would agree with you there – the 2nd half was a bit on the boring side, although I reckon the stoke players got a right rollocking at half-time cos they parked the bus 2nd half………..

    Loved Robins goal – shame he didn’t get a hat-trick

  22. peachesgooner says:

    Irish – it seems you’d already waxed lyrical about Robins goal 😉

  23. Irishgunner says:

    😳 I thought I was blogging here

  24. Irishgunner says:

    😆 seriously though was a great goal, I hope he signs his new contract, we get the players we need, keep the ones we have and open a whole load of whoop ass next season 😀

  25. Rasputin says:

    Hi Irish,

    I wouldn’t mind if Ade left and we didn’t replace him with another striker. Your mate Cana or a CH in the traditional mould would do me…… (mould/bould/adams/campbell) … mind you it would be good if they could play football too a la Ferdinand

  26. Irishgunner says:

    Afternoon Rasp,

    Well to keep the bulk of the squad, last season too many left, I realise some will go but hopefully not too many

  27. peachesgooner says:

    Irish – the first half was just like watching Arsenal 😆

    Its funny, when the football that I love to watch returns I don’t have any doubts that we are going to win the game. Stoke actually didn’t mount any sort of challenge but if they had I wouldn’t have been worried 🙂

  28. Irishgunner says:

    😆 Hope to see more of the Arsenal way next season.

    Redaction had a lot of their banners up, not that we were nice to Arsene he better be a good boy in the transfer market.

    On another note, reports say that Maldini was booed off the pitch at the San Siro yesterday, what a shower of turds the Rossenari Ultras are….

  29. Irishgunner says:

    *now that we were nice to Arsene

  30. Rasputin says:

    What do we reckon on AA’s request for more money already? I can’t believe he’s complaining that much… mind you he has already shown that he is not the slightest bit shy of talking to the press.

  31. Irishgunner says:

    Is it only the Daily Mail that reported it??

    Seems a bit odd him making requests for money already.

  32. Rasputin says:

    Hey Irish, I know you have a lot of ‘inside knowledge’ about the club. No-one has ever been able to tell me what the problem was between Keown and Adams – and since they’re both linked with the club you never know, they may be required to work together again. Adams was conspicuous by his absense from Keown’s testimonial.

  33. peachesgooner says:

    Just noticed that the Times has voted Robin their player of the weekend – he was like a man possessed yesterday, hope it wasn’t his last hurrah 😦

  34. Irishgunner says:

    I have no “inside knowledge” Rasputin, only what I read and hear from the media I trust.

    I’d like Keown to come back to be honest, I think TA needs to go to a lower league club and hone his skill as a manager.

    Peaches – I reckon RvP will stay.

  35. Rasputin says:

    OK Irish, just a highly tuned “bullshit filter” then 😛

    I wonder if RVP is waiting to see if Ade is leaving so he can ask for equivalent wages (or maybe his agent is)

  36. Irishgunner says:

    😆 “bullshit filter”

    I really do think RvP will stay, maybe he is waiting to see if some big players come in, besides he still has two years left doesn’t he?

  37. Irishgunner says:

    Rasp – I just got that DVD you suggested last week “Don’t Look Now” by post, hope its worth by €6.50 😀

  38. kelsey says:

    Hi you guys,

    I mentioned the other day that AA was quoted as wishing to renegotiate his contract as the tax level will increase by 5% to 50.Do you believe that or not.

    The priority for Wenger is to look at his own team first,before thinking about purchases.Last summer we lost Flamini,Hleb,Gilberto9erong decision IMO) and even lehmann who was getting on iwas no better or worse than Almunia is now.

    The gallas situation is of prime importance, hopefully he and Toure stay and bring in someone equally as good but not anyone we would lose for the ANC.
    Get RVP tied down,as he showed yesterday he has the class,but doesn’t always show it,
    Ship out Bischoff(was he really here) and Ade and Silvestre,no one else.
    Then assess the situation.I would like to know who really wants to play for us and who is just here for the money.
    Loyalty today maybe only one or two seasons and for the life of me in these recession times,i honestly feel 905 of PL footballers are overpayed,though i know it is the given thing and wages have moved with the times.

    If football is a business,then players and managers should get a basic with bonuses depending on results.It will never happen,but it sure would improve the game.
    Managers like Erikson,venables and Mcclaren have made a fortune by being unsuccessful.Madness sheer Madness 🙂

  39. Rasputin says:

    I’m sure you will Irish – let me know and I’ll refund you if you’re disappointed 😆

    It is one of those films that you can watch over and over again and each time you see hidden subtle references and nuances you hadn’t noticed before.

  40. kelsey says:

    90% i meant

  41. Irishgunner says:

    Kelsey – what Arshavin said seems to be a direct quote, that he is getting less that what he expected and his agent is sorting it out. £40k a week after tax-bless!!

    Rasputin – I’ll let you know what I think after I’ve seen it

  42. Irishgunner says:

    Strachan has left Celtic

  43. kelsey says:

    Dont Look now is that the spooky film set in ITALY IRISH 😉 with julie Christie and Donald Sunderland.

    I manage on 40k a month,so why is he complaining.

  44. Irishgunner says:

    I don’t even know what £40k looks like 😯

    The DVD came with a label proclaiming “ONE OF THE BEST HORROR FILMS EVER MADE” – I await the horror 😀

  45. Rasputin says:

    Kelsey, don’t let the cat out of the bag!….

    I wouldn’t exactly call it a horror film, it has more intrigue than that.

    Have you seen ‘The Road to Perdition’ Irish – that had some good ‘dark’ moments in it?

  46. Irishgunner says:

    Not seen that either I’m afraid but I look forward to watching “Don’t look now” 🙂

  47. rico01 says:

    Hi Guys and Gals –

    Strachan is off to Sunderland, has anyone seen an interview by Ade, slating everyone at the club and saying he is the best. Someone i spoke to today said they had seen it but I cant find it – he also says in the i/v he hopes to go to Manure.

    Same chap ssid Tevez has had a medical at the dippers today…

  48. Irishgunner says:

    I don’t believe that Rico about Adebayor, he can’t be that silly.

    As for tevez – surely he is with the United camp for the Champions League final?

  49. rico01 says:

    Irish – exactly the question i asked the chap, but he said Tevez is not in the squad – he was so sure about the i/v with Ade – he said it was in The Sun

  50. Big Raddy says:

    I’m more of a ‘Carry On’ man. All that high brow stuff is too stressful for me.

    Give me Sid James over Donald Sutherland anyday. (you are footie mad aren’t you Kelsey 😉 )

    .

  51. Irishgunner says:

    Well it seems Adebayor is going anyway but he could keep his mouth zipped.

    I’d be shocked if Tevez isn’t in the squad, that’s a bit low of Ferguson if true, he was very good for them in Europe.

  52. Big Raddy says:

    Rico. The interview is on the BBC website, it is with Garth Crooks, and Ade says nothing about MU.

    But, I guess if it is in the Sun, it must be right….

  53. Rasputin says:

    Hi Raddy,

    I’d have thought ‘High Fidelity’ would be your kind of film – specially since it was the same author as Fever Pitch

  54. rico01 says:

    Raddy – its a different one that is supposed to be in The Sun today – rumour is he has absolutely slated all the team and the boss – maybe it will be in tomorrows and i have broken some news 😉

  55. Irishgunner says:

    😆 he slated Wenger and the poor man standing up for him all season, hardly!!

  56. kelsey says:

    rico hellooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo,
    can you give me a transcript re Ade.

    Raddy just mad;)

  57. kelsey says:

    i am a rin tin tin man.

  58. kelsey says:

    and slaughter of the lambs

  59. kelsey says:

    Irish,
    a good read is “The young wolf who lived in the monastry near the river lee.

    It’s not easily obtainable but makes for a wonderful story.

  60. Irishgunner says:

    “The young wolf who lived in the monastry near the river lee.” – Is that the full name of the book?

    I was told once by an English lecturer that a book which I think is called “The turn of the screw” is the scariest book ever written

  61. kelsey says:

    No irish,
    that’s the first chapter,the title would be a giveaway.

    What’s ade been saying today ? i can’t find anything.

    You know he earns more than AW

  62. Irishgunner says:

    Are you going to tell me the title Kelsey or is it a riddle for me to find out? 😉

    Does AW not earn a few thousand more?

  63. kelsey says:

    it’s a jimmy riddle irish 😉

    Anyway AW and Ade are both earning about the same.Ones got a prairie hat the other is a hairy pr..

  64. Irishgunner says:

    Do I get anymore clues Kelsey??

    BTW your second word there trailed off “hairy pr..” 😆

  65. kelsey says:

    I did that on purpose irish,for the sake of decency.

    Clues,ask peaches or rasputin I can’t think of any more.

  66. Irishgunner says:

    I thought so Kelsey ha ha 😆

  67. peachesgooner says:

    Morning all

    Did we think summer had arrived? Yuuuuuukkkkkkk 😦

    Lovely blogging yesterday sorry I missed out, hope you all had fun 🙂

    Seems Roy Hodgson is resigned to losing Haangeland, gonna try and find the link, its in the Daily Mail

  68. kelsey says:

    Morning all,

    I tend to look at things the other way round.The tabloids seem to think we are going to buy Haageland,it’s in nearly every paper,but my question is that to boost the squad or is either Gallas or Toure leaving.I want both to stay,though Silvestre would not be missed.We are understrength in quality and have to many fringe players and i would say that long term the youth prospects look better than most of the reserves,though that is years away.

  69. peachesgooner says:

    Morning kelsey

    Its not the Mail its the Mirror.

    Its a real problem if we want Toure and Gallas to stay – I do too – and we say we need a big lump of a defender, no point in buying him for him to sit on the bench……..

    Not such an easy decision unless Gallas has decided he wants to go – but he’ll have trouble finding a team to pay his current wages…..ho hum

  70. peachesgooner says:

    Looks like I’m talking to myself – but I’ll throw in the fact that Theo wants to play for both the England U21’s and the Senior squad much to Wengers disappointment. He’ll only get 1 weeks rest…….but he did have a few months off with his shoulder injury……..

  71. Rasputin says:

    Morning peachbums,

    20 years to the day since we beat pool 2 nil away to win the league – a pivotal day in Arsenal’s history. If only we’d had that ‘never give up’ attitude in a few games this season (sorry to say that pool still have)

  72. peachesgooner says:

    Hi rasp – arseblog has a fabulous youtube video of 1989 have you seen it…….

  73. Rasputin says:

    I’m on my own now 😦

    I am quite happy with the 3 teams joining the prem – Burnley (good team), Wolves (great history) and Brum (give villa a kicking twice a year).

  74. Rasputin says:

    Hi peaches,

    I’ll give it a look.

  75. Rasputin says:

    By the way Peaches – did you know you had your 1,000th comment yesterday…. not a bad effort for a pals/footie chat rescue home 😆

  76. peachesgooner says:

    Hi rasp – yes I noticed, how exciting is that 🙂

    Where is everyone today?

  77. peachesgooner says:

    …….obviously we’re the only ones that need rescuing…… 😦

  78. Rasputin says:

    Momentous doubles in Arsenal’s history – in reverse chronological order…

    GG
    DD
    AA
    PP
    😛

  79. peachesgooner says:

    rico – come and talk to us 🙂

  80. peachesgooner says:

    Thats funny – and your 2nd favourite after PP is of course DD 😉

  81. Rasputin says:

    I forgot the ‘new ZZ’

  82. rico01 says:

    Three blogs is doing my head in, i am too old and have posted on Ave’s site to GP on LG – Grrrrrrrr

    Morning or should I say afternoon 😉

  83. rico01 says:

    woops i think i have used some naughty words…. 😦

  84. Rasputin says:

    Morning rico – just checking for you, I know you would never knowingly use naughty words 😛

  85. rico01 says:

    Hi Rasp – How you doing, did you by chance read how my BH Monday went – I can smile about it now 😛

  86. Rasputin says:

    You’re there rico,

    I know, we agree with your sentiments…. who know’s what the future will bring 😉

    You didn’t use naughty words, its just that one of the ‘rules’ is that criticism of other sites is not allowed and so I think peaches just listed some names forgetting that the comment wouldn’t always have to be negative 😳

  87. rico01 says:

    Rasp – No probs, I would never be so naughty, I love all three 🙂

    Now the Hokie Kokie club ………

  88. Rasputin says:

    rico – sorry I missed your Bank Holiday report …. tell me do…. nothing too stressful I hope 😕

  89. rico01 says:

    I will cut a long story short 😉

    Cloudy morning, just right for a few chores, shopping, fill the Landrover with Diesel, home to enjoy the sunny afternoon..

    Sadly, whilst we were at the garage filling the Landrover, about £8 in, we realised that the petrol pump was in use…..!!! 🙄

    several hours later, having spent time in the front of a truck with a dipper fan, £250 worse off we got back home!!

  90. Rasputin says:

    I’ve done that 3 times rico – £200 each time. Yoyu feel such a jerk and it seems disproportionately expensive to get the tank drained and flushed.

    I didn’t think you could put diesel in a petrol, but I have proved that its easy to put petrol in a diesel ggrrrr! One garage I use has a black parafin nozzle next to the black diesel nozzle, but so far I’ve resisted the temptation to try to run my car on parafin 😦

  91. rico01 says:

    That has made me feel a little better Rasp, it was petrol going into a diesel tank….

    Ended up In High Wycombe getting it fixed, I am sure there would have been somewhere nearer but it was a BH 😦

  92. rico01 says:

    The other thing is Rasp, at least I didnt start the car, I was told it would have cost 3-4 thousand pounds if i had – not sure if that is true though….

  93. peachesgooner says:

    Hi rico – sorry you ended up in moderation 😦

    I read your BH adventure. I’ve done it too in a friends van – Boy was I popular….. 🙂

  94. Rasputin says:

    The last mechanic I used told me that it is far better to put petrol in a diesel because it has a cleansing action whereas t’other way round it can be fatal! I have put a small amount of petrol in my diesel, discovered my mistake and then filled to the brim with diesel and got away with it – except for a bit of smoke! Ave could tell you I’m sure….

  95. rico01 says:

    No worries peaches – i am feeling so much better knowing you have all made the same mistake, its just so annoying and a waste of several hours in the day…

    Still at least the M4 was free of traffic, got back in no time 😉

  96. peachesgooner says:

    Oh I drove for about 200 yards before the van conked out ………. 😦

  97. rico01 says:

    Ave is still asleep Rasp 😉 But I will ask him when he surfaces – thanks, i had forgot he is a wizz with cars, maybe i should have called him out 😉

  98. rico01 says:

    Woops peaches 😦

  99. peachesgooner says:

    Have to do some stuff in my greenhouse – catch up later.

    Irish – Hi if you pop in, hope you’re well 🙂

  100. rico01 says:

    Catch you later guys

  101. peachesgooner says:

    rico – I know where you are, discussing greek islands 😆

  102. Rasputin says:

    And she’s talking cricket with someone other than me 😦

    Everyone knows I only blog on one site 😳

    I discovered a new ‘old’ site the other day that was really good and my old enemy paulinho is now my new best mate 😛

  103. peachesgooner says:

    I’m sure its only cos you weren’t there, you’ll never get the lefties to talk cricket, they don’t even talk football 😉

  104. kelsey says:

    I am too old to hop step and jump,i will just stick with a a good jump 😉

    Anyone want to talk about Tennis,now that’s something that has been dear to me for years.Similar to football.grass roots level is pants,nothing to do with the weather,top5 out of 10 ladies in the world are russian,but it is still very much an elitest sport.Both my younger kids went through the system from age 7 to 15, played county level,we travelled all over england only for them to be dropped like a brick by the LTA.Henman was dropped bt the LTA, david LLoyd saw the potential,Murray was coached by his mum,another one ignored by the system, and so on.

  105. peachesgooner says:

    kelsey – I’d love to talk tennis – it’ll have to be later though – can you wait till then – have a siesta 🙂

  106. kelsey says:

    I have had my siesta

  107. rico01 says:

    Rasp, but only with an Aussie 😛

    You will always be my No1 cricket buddy 🙂

  108. rico01 says:

    See, no-one here to talk cricket with 😉

  109. Rasputin says:

    Are you stumped rico?

    I’m playing a 20:20 this evening, I can take out all my frustrations on the opposition. Only thing is you have to retire when you make 25

  110. kelsey says:

    I envy you , rasp, you work and play in the same environment.you must know every blade of grass in the park.

  111. kelsey says:

    We are pleased to announce the opening of a new Arsenal unique website,the likes of have never been seen before.There will be a facility to blog on a one to one basis either openly or privately,therefore saving time on unnecessary e mails.The site will remain open 24 hours a day,7 days a week.

    The Launch date is 7p.m. CET on Monday 1st June by invitation only.More details to follow

  112. Irishgunner says:

    Hi everyone – looking forward to the second leg later, hope the young guns can do us proud yet again 😀

  113. peachesgooner says:

    Hi all

    Sorry, had to disappear for a while.

    Looking forward to watching our boys lift a trophy later 🙂

    kelsey – thats very funny about the new Arsenal unique website 😆 😆 😆

  114. rico01 says:

    20/20 Rasp, you lucky old tinker, I would have loved the chance to play that game – please make sure you tell me all about it tomorrow 😛

  115. rico01 says:

    nighty night 😦

  116. Irishgunner says:

    TROPHY 😀

  117. peachesgooner says:

    Hiya – how good is that 😆

  118. Irishgunner says:

    Two trophies for the youths and three for the women, come on Senior Men’s side, they start winning the trophies and we’ll have us one exceptional club – not that its not exceptional – but you know what I mean 😀

    Bedtime 🙂

  119. Rasputin says:

    Morning peachbums,

    Great result for the kids last night. I expect to see that team forming the basis os the CC squad next season. The amazing thing is that it seems to have strength and quality in all positions – a ready made team for 3 years ahead! – don’t get too comfortable main squad because these lads wil be breathing down your necks 😉

  120. Big Raddy says:

    Those kids are superb, and if we can keep them as a group, the future is bright.

    Petrol/Diesel ?? Not having a car, I use rentals. I have filled up with the wrong fuel on 3 occasions. All the companies not only charge for the dranage but also the premium fuel rate for the refill!! Hertz charged me almost £500 !!

    And the worst thing is that there is no-one to blame but myself …. can’t even blame the girlfriend 😦

  121. Rasputin says:

    Sure you can Raddy – that’s what girlfriends are for 🙂

    I think they have to change the fuel filters as part of the repair, but I still can’t see why they charge so much. They have the technology to make it impossible to put the wrong fuel in, but choose not to use it – I wonder why ?:

  122. rico01 says:

    Morning peoples

    Ours cost £249, and it was done in 20 minutes – and as mentioned, all done by a machine, I think they should switch their electricity company 😦

  123. rico01 says:

    Rasp – I think Ford have bought out a vehicle this year that has that technology, I heard the advert yesterday and thought, Right that is our next car 😉

  124. rico01 says:

    Catch you later – seems you have all gone

  125. peachesgooner says:

    Morning all

    Been out in the disgusting weather yuuuuukkkkk 😦

    rico and rasp – thought you were gonna be having a cricket love-in this morning 🙂

    When do the ashes start ?

  126. peachesgooner says:

    I’m assuming we are all Barcelona supporters tonight, this is quite funny – I just found it on NN

    http://www.arsenaladdict.com/home/2009/5/27/seven-reasons-why-all-gooners-should-be-supporting-barcelona.html

  127. peachesgooner says:

    rico – I can’t believe that I just missed you here and elsewhere 😉 Bloody awful day, I have 2 children at home and they keep stealing the internet 😦

    What a shame there couldn’t have been more supporters at Anfield last night, they only offered Arsenal 500 hundred tickets……….did anyone see if Arsene was there?

  128. peachesgooner says:

    kelsey – is this what you meant by ‘unique Arsenal website’ its the way forward ‘blogging alone can be fun’ 😆

  129. Irishgunner says:

    Didn’t see Arsene there last night – but then again my link kept dying 👿

    Nothing to do not but hope Barcelona and Everton win the last two games.

  130. kelsey says:

    What happened to all my comments between 16.00 and 17.00 hours,are you asleep on the job peaches.

  131. Irishgunner says:

    😯

  132. kelsey says:

    Is it a public holiday in England or what.Where is everyone,surely not getting excited about tonight’s game.

  133. Irishgunner says:

    That’s what I’m wondering too Kelsey – it was quiet yesterday too

  134. kelsey says:

    Sorry irish,

    there is something wrong with wordpress and my comments aren’t getting through or duplicating themselves.Enjoy the game,speak later

  135. Irishgunner says:

    Same happening to me Kelsey – Enjoy the game too and hopefully Henry will get his winner’s medal 😀

  136. rico01 says:

    blimey, all comments are coming out twice 😛

  137. Irishgunner says:

    Hi Rico

  138. peachesgooner says:

    Hi rico – I’m editing now, don’t understand whats happened

  139. rico01 says:

    Irish – good to see you, how are those kittens doing ?

    I want them all 🙂

  140. rico01 says:

    Woops – Irish, how are you ?

    Evening peaches, bad days weather, and I must have missed you by seconds, twice 😦

  141. Irishgunner says:

    I haven’t found them yet 😯

    The mother is too clever and I can’t follow here to see where she is going, if she thinks I’m watching her she sits down and does nothing till I go away.

    We are in the middle of the country, surrounded in plenty of places for her to hide.

  142. rico01 says:

    Thats not so good then, but lets hope if you cant find them, the predators cant either ….

  143. Irishgunner says:

    She’ll look after them alright.

    The last Cat to have kittens they were about two months before we found them but they were lovely and fluffy and she had looked after them really well. They are now living a spoilt life with my cousin 🙂

  144. rico01 says:

    I am off for supper, pasta with lots of fresh basil, tomato, chilli and garlic….

    Yep, rico no friends 😉

  145. rico01 says:

    Lucky Moggs 🙂

  146. peachesgooner says:

    Hi Rico / Irish / kelsey ……. see this site is so wonderful everything gets published twice. As a ‘site owner virgin’ I have to learn on the job as it were 😉

    Kelsey, I share your intrigue at what goes on elsewhere, but I don’t really want to name or quote from other sites because you can end up in a slanging match and that’s specifically what I want to avoid on here…. so forgive me when your comment disappears 😆

  147. Irishgunner says:

    Hiya Peaches – twice as much fun eh? 😆

  148. peachesgooner says:

    Hi Irish, well the kids have done the double so why shouldn’t we? 😉

    I hope Iniesta is fully fit – Cesc reckons he’s one of the 3 best midfielders in the world (do you think he’s also in that list?)

  149. Irishgunner says:

    Iniesta is absolute class, don’t think Fabregas is up there yet maybe top 20.

    What do you think of my new picture?
    http://bleacherreport.com/users/46946-Maire-Ofeire

  150. peachesgooner says:

    Not sure about the ‘barnet’ Irish 🙂

    There are a lot of people talking about Theo today, saying he’s been a disappointment this season, but Ronaldo wasn’t doing a lot at 20 either. I don’t know whether he should be a winger or a striker – rico ?)

  151. peachesgooner says:

    :?): 😳

  152. kelsey says:

    Irish,
    you are unbelievable.how many sites do you write for ? and who is Declan Kidney.

  153. Irishgunner says:

    Ha ha Arsene in the 80s 8)

    Walcott looks more a striker, he relies so much on his speed, he hasn’t a bag of tricks so could be one of those forwards who stays on the shoulder of the last defender and then kills them with his speed

  154. kelsey says:

    my hair is longer 😉

  155. Irishgunner says:

    The articles appear on three Kelsey but they are all the same articles – just cut and paste 😀

    Declan Kidney is the Irish Rugby manager – he lead Munster to two Heineken Cups and Ireland to our first Grand Slam in 61 years all in the matter of four years.

  156. peachesgooner says:

    I agree Irish…. I can never understand why he comes back to defend corners. He should be standing on the halfway line and that would tie up at least 2 (if not 3 of their defenders).

  157. kelsey says:

    Oh F5 this for a laugh,I can boil an egg quicker 🙂

  158. Irishgunner says:

    I’m off folks to grab me a bottle of cider and watch the game – enjoy and hope Henry gets his medal.

    Peaches – I agree on Walcott, very much so.

  159. Rasputin says:

    Blimey Irish, Le Boss looks like he should be in Starsky and Hutch 😉

    Funny that manure playing in white will look like Real Madrid tonight…. enjoy the game

  160. rico01 says:

    So then, you are not blogging, you would all rather watch a mere non important football match…. 😦

  161. rico01 says:

    I am off then…..

    catch up soon – cant believe you all want to watch Manure 😉

  162. peachesgooner says:

    kelsey – I don’t know where your missing comments went – are you sure you weren’t doing a peaches/rico 😳

  163. peachesgooner says:

    I’m off to bed, catch up all tmoro, nite nite 🙂

  164. Big Raddy says:

    Really enjoyed last nights game. Iniesta and Xavi were superb, as was Ya Ya (no way is he coming to THOF)

    It was Men against Boys !!

    I honestly think we would have given Barca a better game. They play ‘our way’. Ball retention, short accurate passes, pace and trickery up front (?). I couldn’t understand why Rooney was played so deep, nor why Ronaldo wasn’t given the ball. If AW had played such tactics , he would have been slaughtered in today’s press.

  165. peachesgooner says:

    Morning all

    About time someone wrote a new post – oh that must be me – be back soon.

  166. Rasputin says:

    Morning Raddy,

    Yes I agree, I couldn’t fathom why Rooney was played wide right. Most of his attacking play comprised crossing balls into the middle instead of unleashing his own formidable shot. Berbatov was revealed as the lazy poser he is – I wouldn’t be surprised to see him leave in the summer.

  167. Rasputin says:

    Iniesta is my player of the tournament. It was a nice touch taking him off just before the end to be singlled out to receive the accolades, if it hadn’t have been for his late strike against the chavs we would ave had to watch a borefest of a final with chavski wringing the life out of the game instaed of a great exhibition of how football should be played.

    It was also a swansong for some of the Barca players. Sylvinho was beside himself at the end bless him 😉

  168. peachesgooner says:

    rasp – have you got a post up your sleeve or on the tip of your tongue 😆

  169. Irishgunner says:

    Morning all – I enjoyed that game very much so, as I said to you Peaches it was men against boys out there 8)

    Ferguson got that so very wrong, what an awful team to put out. Giggs, Anderson, Carrick were pretty priceless.

  170. Rasputin says:

    Morning Irish,

    I must be completely deluded, because in AW and SAF you have 2 of the most successful managers ever and yet there have been times when before the game even starts a lot of us ‘armcahir managers’ have thought that the tactics and team selection were crazy. IN Aw’s case, I think sometimes he is stubborn or trying to prove a point and once or twice I think he has lacked a bit of ‘bottle’. SAF would normally have seen Giggs labouring and subbed him much earlier, but maybe Giggs status in the club and the occassion persuaded him otherwise.

  171. Irishgunner says:

    Morning Rasp,

    I think being fair AW isn’t a man renowned for his tactical mind, he plays Wengerball and that’s it. If he tries to change it or change formation too much it goes wrong.

    Last night Barcelona proved Wengerball works but A)you need the players B)from the right players you get the skill and also the work commitment. Did you see them closing down high up the field and even Messi is a tough nut.

    As for United, before the game on RTE they made a good point yet again, Ferguson didn’t send out his best team, he sent out the best team that he thought could stop Barcelona.

    P.S. What a waste of money Berbatov is?

  172. Rasputin says:

    I agree about AW’s ‘mission’ Irish. The post-mortem from united fans has started, and they are calling for a huge clear-out after having won the prem at a canter and reached the CL final (remind you of any other fans ? 😉 ) Top of the list to go are Berba, Giggs and Ronaldo, with Benzema 😦 and Ribery as replacements.

  173. Irishgunner says:

    Giggs shouldn’t have started last night, that game cried out for Tevez from the start. He has to energy to get at the Barca back line and can create.

    Anderson was awful last night, just awful.

    Barcelona are a great side and worthy winners but I think people are getting carried away saying they are untouchable, Chelsea went the right away about and but from some better finishing from Drogba would have been playing last night.

    I wonder will the Mancs starting calling for Fergie’s head 😆

  174. Rasputin says:

    I think we would have given Barca a better game last night – we play by the same ‘rules’.

    AW and SAF have both been guilty of fielding sides structured to negate the strengths of the opposition instead of believing that their qualities will triumph. SAF is beginning to look his age. The manic chewing and throbbing red nose are not pleasant to see and in completre contrast to the calm, dignified presence of so many foreign managers.

    I have really felt for Arsene this season. I think he’s been the Board’s fall guy, but his face cannot hide his emotions …… he’s suffered plenty although just lately in the odd press conference after a good result, the old twinkle has returned to his eye. I hope he took a lot of pleasure from the kids performance. Looks like he’s about to sign another 15 year old in celebration 😛

  175. Irishgunner says:

    I hope the return of the twinkle in Arsene’s eye is because he has some money to spend and has picked out his targets and sent Gazidis on his merry way to sign them.

    Do you think our new 15-year-old will give us some “Edge” 😉

    Also we’ve signed some kid from Switzerland too, a defender.

  176. Rasputin says:

    😆 Irish ….. from IMS Scouting….

    “Arsene Wenger’s famed scouting network has targeted two 15-year-olds to bring to the Arsenal academy, with the Gunners reportedly close to sealing their first deals of the summer.

    Jamie Edge from Cheltenham is all set for a move according to Paul Baker, chairman of the League One club relegated at the end of the season: “We believe it is an excellent deal for the club both in terms of the money we will receive this season and next and further payments that become due depending upon the progress Jamie makes at both club and international level.”

    Baker added: “It is a particularly exciting opportunity for Jamie who now has to agree personal terms with Arsenal before the deal can be confirmed.” Edge recently played for the Arsenal Under-16 team in a tournament in Italy.

    Alongside Edge, the Gunners are also set to swoop for FC Zurich central defender Martin Angha. He was given a tour of the club during and after the 4-1 Premier League win over Stoke on Sunday and also played for the Under-15 Arsenal side in a win over Chelsea this week.

    Arsenal are expected to pay a nominal fee to both Cheltenham and FC Zurich, both players will go into the Gunners Under-16 squad at the start of next season.”

  177. Irishgunner says:

    Hopefully we will get some grown up defenders in the summer too.

  178. peachesgooner says:

    Oh goody – new babies to watch………

    On another note – I’ve just been told that Stavros Flatley used to valet my car and lives round the corner to me…………..

  179. peachesgooner says:

    irish – which of our grown-up defenders do you think we can live without?

  180. Rasputin says:

    Was that valet or ballet peaches? ?)

  181. Rasputin says:

    ?) didn’t work again … try :?):

  182. Irishgunner says:

    Silvestre 😀

    I’d really like to keep Gallas.

  183. Irishgunner says:

    We’re okay in the full back position:

    Sagna/Eboue

    Clichy/Gibbs

    Its in the middle the problem is: Gallas/Toure/Djourou/Silvestre/Song – really not good enough.

  184. Rasputin says:

    Tweety Pie has to go …. please AW I implore you. Does anyone know how Harvaard is getting on? ….. still doing his BA at the Norwegian unversity of football?

  185. Irishgunner says:

    Apparently,

    Tomstoned that frequents another Arsenal blog reckons he’s doing okay in Norway.

  186. Rasputin says:

    Last I heard, they were saying that he was a bit on the short side? I wonder if he’s mates with Hangeland?

    The first time I saw Big Phil play for the reserves, I was really impressed. He kept it simple and won everything in the air. It appears he just cannot cut it at the top level – shame, because he always spoke intelligently about the game and no-one could have questioned his commitment.

  187. kelsey says:

    Good Morning,

    Stavros Flatley,Bloody Hell peaches,you do mix in the right circles. 🙂

    I have read loads of reports and comments about last night game,and really for United read Arsenal. They just didn’t turn up as a team(how often have we said that)the expectation and could I say arrogance that they just had to turn up to win,backfired big time.Fergie got it wrong and a weakened barca team,gave them a lesson in ball possession and their passing showed that football is a team game,not one to be reliant on one or two individuals.barca deservedly won and i was really happy for our TH14(who clearly wasn’t match fit.)
    Arsene hopefully can learn from this that we are undoubtedly a model of barcelona and with a couple of additions and the removal of a big lone striker,is the way forward.

    All in all the old saying “football is a funny old game” is so true and predictions go out of the window oh so often,which makes it the greatest and sometimes unpredictable game that we all enjoy.

  188. Irishgunner says:

    Yep always though Senderos would make – seems like he won’t be coming back now.

  189. peachesgooner says:

    My friend – a gooner – called me last night to say they had put money on the mancs to win – they reckoned they’d be happy to win the money if sadly the mancs had won and happy to lose the money if Barcelona won……

    What fantastic logic women have 😆

  190. Rasputin says:

    I like the sound of this guy ….. we’ll be kids champs for evermore.

    Arsenal have completed the deal to sign FC Zürich defender Martin Angha-Lötscher, known simply as Martin Angha, yet the prospect is a relative unknown to many Gooners. Young Guns has subsequently moved to help inform you of the in’s and outs of our latest acquisition with a player profile.

    Born on the 22nd of January 1994 in Switzerland, Martin Angha joined the FC Zürich Academy as an 9 year old. He went on to develop through the ranks as a centre back before earning the rank of captain of the their Under 16’s.

    Martin was soon included in the Swiss youth teams where he was again named skipper – once more at Under 16 level. Angha’s big break came during this seasons Nike Cup where he led his Zürich side all the way to glory against FC Luzern in front of watching scouts. The stopper described the Cup win as a ‘dream come true’.

    Arsenal moved quickly and invited the whole Angha family to London where the 6ft powerhouse was shown around the stadium and training ground before being given VIP tickets to watch Arsenal’s Premier League clash with Stoke City. Clearly in awe of the Emirates Stadium, he was then given the opportunity to play on the surface when as the Under 16’s beat Chelsea 4-1 the next day.

    After being taken to Anfield with the rest of the squad to watch the Gunners lift the F.A Youth Cup on Tuesday night, the prospect signed on the dotted line with a small amount of compensation changing hands between the two clubs.

    So what will he bring?

    Martin will bring a classy and composed style to Arsenal. He’s a strong leader and somebody blessed with pace, technical skills and strength in abundance – like any modern central defender. He will also weigh in with a handful of goals – and he’s very good at taking penalties (see above photo for proof).

    He should start his career with Steve Gatting in the Under 16’s but he will hope to follow the example set by Ignasi Miquel who took the same route and finished the campaign playing in the Reserves.

  191. peachesgooner says:

    rico – are you about? Didn’t you want to watch Thierry last night – I wasn’t interested in the mancs but I do love watching Barcelona play – just like us 🙂

  192. peachesgooner says:

    I wonder how Hleb felt receiving a medal – he wasn’t in the team for last night and he hasn’t exactly been influential for Barcelona – a bit of a fraud really.

    His losers medal in 2006 should have more meaning for him – at least he played for the team then.

  193. peachesgooner says:

    This is the Peaches chat-a-thon……..

    rasp – I agree with you about SAF and AW putting out teams to negate the opposition – such a weird thing to do when you have fantastic players – and for a cup final surely you’d want to put out your best team to win………

  194. Irishgunner says:

    “and for a cup final surely you’d want to put out your best team to win………” – or an FA Cup semi-final?

  195. peachesgooner says:

    Exactly – or an FA Cup semi-final – it beggars belief really – of all the other crazy team selections this season those errors at Wembley still havn’t been explained…… 😦

  196. peachesgooner says:

    Rooney had to play out wide to help keep Messi quiet – but Messi just drifted inside – cos hes an intelliegent footballer – and Rooney didn’t take the game on.

    Although I’ve seen us collapse before now, I still can’t believe that the mancs did….ha ha ha

    Come on Everton……..

  197. Rasputin says:

    I think AW did give his reasons for the team he picked for the FA cup semi, although I can’t recall exactly what they were. I think the gist of it was that he was using that game as preparation for the CL game that followed ggggrrrrrr.

    I love Le Boss, so I prefer to believe that he still doesn’t quite understand the place the FA cup has in our hearts rather than – he doesn’t care 😦

  198. Rasputin says:

    The manure players (maybe with the exception of Ronaldo, who’s a big baby any way) didn’t seem that upset at the end – they knew they had been comprehensively outplayed.

  199. Irishgunner says:

    His excuse was that he wanted to play the CL team to prove they could win against a top side.

    One of the first times I got into a right fit of rage with AW

  200. Rasputin says:

    Thanks for the clarity Irish 😆

    I never really believed we would win the CL, but I would have hailed this season as a success if we’d won the FA cup. Winning trophies is a habit. With young players in particular, “wanting it too much” can get in the way. I think Bendtner sometimes freezes in front of goal for that reason.

  201. kelsey says:

    Gunners boss Arsene Wenger confirmed last week that he is waiting for the chance to discuss a new deal with van Persie.

    The Dutch striker has two years remaining on his current contract and the delay in talks has sparked suggestions he could leave the club.

    Van Persie admits no progress has been made regarding an extension, but he suggested there could be news in the near future.

    “The club and I have not been able to make any headway,” said van Persie in De Telegraaf.

    “But maybe I will soon have something new to report. That is all I have to say on this now.”

    The former Feyenoord youngster was happy with his contribution to Arsenal’s season, but was disappointed to see the club miss out on silverware for the fourth successive year.

    He added: “My aim was to play as many matches as possible and I achieved it by taking part in 44 games. I am also happy with my number of goals and assists.

    “But the one blemish is that we have not won anything. Lifting the trophy, and the feeling that gives you, is what football is all about.”

  202. Rasputin says:

    Doesn’t RVP have the most assists in the Prem?

    Rico – where are you? I am very disappointed that you haven’t asked for my 20:20 match report – but not as disappointed as I was by my performance 🙄

  203. peachesgooner says:

    I can understand that logic for a league game but not for a cup tie – whats the point in being in the competition…………

    Anyway, apart from not starting with Arshavin the other disaster was playing Diaby so it was a double shambles IMO

  204. Rasputin says:

    I was totally wrong about Song, in as much as he has developed into a much better player than I thought possible, but I really can’t see how Diaby can iron out the flaws in his game. You can’t play Barca type wengerball with a player who frequently gives away possession in dangerous areas.

  205. Irishgunner says:

    If lessons are learnt for next season I’ll get over it

  206. peachesgooner says:

    I have to go and do some jobs – back in a while 🙂

  207. Irishgunner says:

    I’m logging off soon – darn broadband isn’t working properly

  208. rico01 says:

    Ahoy 🙂

    I am around, just have some workmen in the house !!!

    Rasp, please, tell me all about your game 😛

    Barca Barca Barca 😛 😛 😛 😛

    Heloooooooooooooooooooo

  209. Rasputin says:

    Hi rico,

    We all keep missing each other.

    Actually I only got to bat for the last 2 overs – 9 not out, so nothing to shout about 😦

    Well done Barca; we love you TH14; Ha Ha Hleb you loser; and nice one Sylvinho…..

    I’ve got to go and do chores. Hope we can all get together later 😉

  210. Big Raddy says:

    Sylvinho’s reaction was great, and TH14 showed once again, what a gentleman he is.

    TH14 is a top, top bloke. Do you recall that he insisted upon a letter of apology from a newspaper because they showed a picture of him ‘drinking champagne’? In fact he was drinking water, and doesn’t drink alcohol during the season. His complaint was that he is a role model to young people, and tries to show it is possible to be responsible, and a gentleman in sport that embraces stupidity and the thug culture (Rooney/Barton).

  211. kelsey says:

    Well said.

  212. Big Raddy says:

    Thanks Kelsey.

    Berbatov? Do you think he is happy to have left London? OK , he doesn’t have to play at SWL, but at least he got a gig there.

    I think about him because he is what £30m buys today – a bench player. £32m buys you a player who can raise the team to 10th in the Prem. A £20m buys a striker who is not good enough for a team in 10th place and gets loaned out !!

    Oh, and £15m buys a winger who can’t even get a bench spot at a club that finished below Fulham, and level on points with a bankrupt WHU !

    What this shows is what a fantastic buy Arshavin is. But also, how careful AW has to be in summer with his limited budget.

  213. peachesgooner says:

    Morning all

    You’re up early raddy 🙂

    Theres a NEW POST ……..

  214. peachesgooner says:

    Sorry all – there was a new post but it came out twice aaaarrrggghhhh – have to work out how to do it again…………………

  215. peachesgooner says:

    rasp – I can’t reduce the spacing between the lines – lost it twice now 😦

    Can you try to publish it yourself I have to go out for an hour xxxxxx

Leave a Reply

