ONE ROAD LEADS TO ANOTHER?

Following yesterdays unexpected closure of Avenell Road, we’ve re-opened this site to offer a forum to discuss what’s happened and to see if there’s any way we can continue to blog together in the spirit of  Avenell Road.

We’ve all enjoyed many months of blogging together and we don’t want that to end.

It is possible that AR will rise from the ashes so please don’t think we are jumping the gun, nothing would make us happier. If that does not happen, we are considering offering this site as a sort of ‘Arsenal Co-op’ with multiple like minded administrators so the burden can be shared (just like ave hoped to create!!)

There don’t have to be lengthy posts every day, just maybe a ‘thought for the day as starting point and then the discussion can meander in any direction as it always used to.

The first thing is to change the name to a less personal title … all suggestions gratefully received. We’d be delighted to hear your opinions and get as many of you involved as are willing to do so. If it fails; then at least we’ve tried……

Ave – you need to talk Arsenal as much as any of us – the pressure is off – come and repeat yourself at will 🙂

We hope everyone joins in so that we can still be bloggers and friends

Rasputin and peachesgooner

About peachesgÖÖner

Garden Designer Mum Enjoys Red Wine, Sunshine and playing with plants
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

161 Responses to ONE ROAD LEADS TO ANOTHER?

  1. peachesgooner says:

    Is this one live?

  2. Rasputin says:

    Well there are two of us here peaches … it’s a start 😛

  3. peachesgooner says:

    Its definitely this one – I don’t know what happened to the other one…….

  4. Rasputin says:

    Hahaha .. we’re amateurs … 😳

  5. Irishgunner says:

    I think it should be called any one of these:

    Rosicky

    TR7

    Super Sexy Tom

    anyone??

  6. peachesgooner says:

    Well that was predictable 🙂

  7. peachesgooner says:

    Wasn’t a TR7 a car?

  8. Irishgunner says:

    It was a supercar 😀

  9. peachesgooner says:

    Very nice – I can see Tomas in one of these

  10. Irishgunner says:

    I think you should definitely avoid the term “Arse” in it, something a bit original.

  11. peachesgooner says:

    Might have to drop the legs – what d’you think Irish?

  12. peachesgooner says:

    rasp has got a few lined up……..they all include Arse though…..what about…..

    CHOCOLATE LEGS

  13. Irishgunner says:

    Maybe, don’t want to give out the wrong impression 😆

  14. Irishgunner says:

    Nearly every Arsenal blog has “Arse” in it but since Rasp came up with them I’m sure they are very good.

  15. peachesgooner says:

    Crawler 😳

  16. Irishgunner says:

    We could call ourselves “Arse Addicts” and you could leave your legs up

  17. peachesgooner says:

    I think that might be a bit rude Irish……. 😛

  18. peachesgooner says:

    Why aren’t you at the beach?

    I have to go to bed now, catch up tomorrow – have a nice day 😀

  19. Irishgunner says:

    Me rude??? Never!

  20. Irishgunner says:

    Going to the beach soon 😀

  21. Big Raddy says:

    Hi

    I am in shock, but if we need to start again, so be it. Anyway I can help, I will.

    What about THOF (The Home of Football) ?

    or Pride of London

    or She wore a Yellow Ribbon (though that may have been used before)

    or UTG (Up The Gunners)

    or WGCF (We’ve got Cesc Fabregas (obvious shortcomings with that one)

    I will sleep on it…….

  22. Irishgunner says:

    She wore a yellow ribbon is done BR but I like THOF

  23. Rasputin says:

    Morning all,

    The two have become four 😛 – thanks for joining in Irish and Raddy

    I’m having forklift training today so I won’t be around much. I don’t think this site will need policing for a while 😳

    I still hope that AR becomes the proverbial pheonix – who knows?

    Have a good day everyone, I’ll catch up when I can.

  24. London says:

    Morning Padsters

    I like the idea of naming the site “The Pride of London” I feel a connection with it for a reason I can’t quite put my finger on 😉

    Peaches dearest

    You knew he was going to close it, reading Ave’s and your blogging on Sunday night I can see he had told you and not doubt he would have posted the goodbye letter (last post) yesterday morning if it wasn’t for me putting something up. So, what was the straw that broke the camels back? Was it the nonsense over Shite Hawk?

  25. London says:

    Testing

  26. London says:

    Morning Padsters

    I like the idea of naming the site “The Pride of London” I feel a connection with it for a reason I can’t quite put my finger on 😉

    Peaches dearest

    You knew he was going to close it, reading Ave’s and your blogging on Sunday night I can see he had told you and he would have posted the goodbye letter yesterday morning if it wasn’t for me putting something up. So, what was the straw that broke the camels back? Was it the nonsense over Shite Hawk?

  27. London says:

    I’m trying to work out which word sent my comment into moderation

  28. Rasputin says:

    Hi London,

    Make that 5 exiles so far, great to have your company. I think I’ve opened the door for you to post but I’ll check with peaches to make sure.

  29. London says:

    Morning Rasp

    Can you ask Peaches to let my 8.46 comment on.

  30. peachesgooner says:

    Hello London

    Can you try again……sorry

  31. peachesgooner says:

    Hi London – I don’t know what happened there, I approved the comment but it went into spam and I had to approve it again – it must know our history 😆

    rico is very upset about the SH incident and has questioned whether she wants to be in the firing line when things like that happen……..

  32. London says:

    It seems fine now but what is the answer?

  33. Rasputin says:

    As far as a name is concerned, I think it would be good to convey the message that there won’t be lengthy posts unless one of us is in the mood, and for that reason I thought of the following not very clever options….

    Arsenal Shorts
    Arsenal Thoughts

    Unfortunately the clever ones like “Back of the Net” and “In off the post” have already been used … I’ll keep thinking – hopefully one of you willl trump me as usual 😉

  34. peachesgooner says:

    Morning Raddy 🙂

  35. London says:

    I could see she was upset, I think the pressure of having to write something everyday takes it’s toll on everyone. It’s such a shame, as surely all it needed was an email to SFH asking him to remove the link. Or even better stop people from being able to create a link in the first place. For one week it was the best blog out there, (I happened to be away) but that is by the by.

  36. peachesgooner says:

    I didn’t know ave was going to close down the site only that recently when I spoke to him he was unhappy about blogging…….

    The SH incident upset rico rather than ave.

  37. peachesgooner says:

    Until rico comes on to talk to us we can’t really decide unanimously how to move on…….I think for now we should just carry on blogging and give her a few days space…..

    rico is an important part of whatever we decide to do……I think we all agree on that don’t we…….

  38. London says:

    I can’t imagine any off shoot of Avenell Road succeeding without Rico, she has a special talent for collecting the morning’s news and turning it into Rico’s Round Up, I can’t do it, I know, because I have tried.

  39. peachesgooner says:

    Exactly London – we need Rico’s Round Up 🙂

    How was your skiing – did you have good snow?

  40. peachesgooner says:

    Its really sad – I’ve just looked Avenell Road and loads of people have put comments on last night 😦

  41. Rasputin says:

    Maybe rico has her own plans for a site … if you’re reading rico, don’t take what we’re doing too seriously, we’ll support you in whatever you want to do ….

  42. Irishgunner says:

    I veto London’s idea to block links, my articles on Bleacher need to be whored out 😀

  43. peachesgooner says:

    Morning Irish 🙂

  44. peachesgooner says:

    Has anyone even looked on NN this morning? I’ll go have a check……..

  45. Big Raddy says:

    Morning All.

    What a sad day. I really do not understand the decision. Why didn’t Ave discuss his decision with us? I am sure we could have taken over the site and kept it running. Do blogsite have certified ownership?

    I wasn’t around for the Stringfellow discussion, but the man was banned from LG for being difficult, and it was no surprise that he rubbed some up the wrong way.

    Is it OK today to discuss other sites?

    I enjoy your links Irish

    Oh I hav other ideas for a name….

  46. peachesgooner says:

    Thank goodness – Jay-Z is reported to have come out and stated his support for Arsenal – he wants to have lunch with Cesc and invite the team to one of his gigs and to meet him back-stage.

    SLOW NEWS DAY 😦

  47. Big Raddy says:

    What happened to my post. Peaches, Get a Grip 🙂

  48. Irishgunner says:

    I’ve had a look – not much,

    Huntelaar rumours back again

  49. peachesgooner says:

    What post Raddy – theres nothing waiting……

  50. London says:

    It’s not that I was against anyone talking about their own site. The problem as I saw it was when their names were in blue which created a direct link. I always felt that if Ave had taken away that possibility the problem with Rico and SFH would never have happened.

    Morning/Night Irish

    Your name was not in blue, just the occasional post card in a phone booth 😉

  51. Irishgunner says:

    I’m going to throw in my tuppence – if your blogging you need a bit of thick skin on you. Its cyberspace where people are tougher and more aggressive than in reality.

    I’ve been called many a thing on Bleacher – you either ignore it or fight back.

  52. Big Raddy says:

    Site names…..

    Proud to say that Name

    My Old Man (said be an Arsenal fan…)

    Walking in a Bergkamp Wonderland

    One Song

    Brady’s Bunch

    It’s up for Grabs

    More to come……

  53. Irishgunner says:

    Agh I see London.

    The thing is, is that the hyperlinked names are an option on WordPress, not too sure you can “turn it off”

  54. peachesgooner says:

    Found it and its on now – must have been the LG that got you put into spam……..we had that as a protection before.

    No discussing other sites or their owners

  55. peachesgooner says:

    Its difficult in cyberspace because if someone is causing offence you can’t get the heavies to come and chuck them out……..

  56. Big Raddy says:

    OK Peaches….

    What a sad day. I was shocked that the decision came from out of the blue and that none of the major contributors knew prior to Ave’s statement.

    AR was developing so well, all that hard work was reaching fruition.

    Being an old hippy, I felt that the site was “owned” by the contributors and not just Ave, but I know nothing about WordPress and their rules of ownership. Would it not be possible to approach Ave with the idea of carrying on the site without him as “owner”, so he wouldn’t have the pressure of moderation? After all AVenll Rd is hardly a personal name and is an excellent title for an AFC site, plus it has NN connection which takes lots of work to establish.

    I agree that Rico is an essential element. Could some one write to her (I could if you would like me to)

  57. Irishgunner says:

    The heavies have to be your wit on the keyboard. Can’t rely on the heavies, only person you can rely on is numero uno.

  58. peachesgooner says:

    I’ll compile a list tomorrow of all the suggested names and maybe we can thrash out a top 5 and then take a vote…..

  59. Big Raddy says:

    Is the approach to Ave a no-go? I have never chatted to him and so do not know whether he would be amenable. Or perhaps you guys want to establish an entirely new entity.

  60. Irishgunner says:

    What about:

    Lets talk about Cesc

    Gunnerology

  61. kelsey says:

    I don’t know what to say really. Those who have left comments on AR are mostly people who read the site but didn’t contribute,which shows with NewsNow it was reaching many.

    No one will hold it against you for trying to keep the momentum going, well done.

    May I suggest no swear words whatsoever on here,it never emphasises a point.As you say we can chill, have a bit of a laugh and have diverse opinions in a civil manner.

  62. peachesgooner says:

    We’ve opened this up today so that we can still chat to each other – obviously the best scenario would be to keep Avenell Road up and running ….. Raddy I’m going to email you

  63. London says:

    The other frustrating thing is that AR had just got NN status, that from what I could gather was not easy to arrange.

    Damn it, all Ave had to say was that he was going to close the site unless anyone would like to carry it on.

  64. Big Raddy says:

    I agree London.

  65. London says:

    Kelsey

    Come on, no swear words what so ever? We are football fans not a knitting circle.

  66. Big Raddy says:

    Though of course, those writing on here were the heartbeat of the site, and if Rico helps, we have the basis of a formidable site. If we can get 7 people to write a post and we post every two days, that is only 2 posts a month. Not too onerous, especially if Irish would agree to write a headline post.

    I know I will, though I am not too good at writing lengthy articles (800 words).

    Kelsey. I notice you state ” No-one will hold it against you”. Don’t you mean “No-one will hold it against US” 😉

  67. Big Raddy says:

    “2 posts a month EACH”

  68. Irishgunner says:

    I’ll certainly do my share of posts although they may be crap for a while cos they’ll have to be less formal than what I usually do.

  69. London says:

    Well this has taken all of half an hour to sort out.

  70. Big Raddy says:

    Is it sorted London?

  71. Irishgunner says:

    Wenger says Wilshere definitely going out on loan

  72. kelsey says:

    i am just a softie but i take your point london and irish, maybe not too much swearing then 🙂

    I would like to do a poll, they are extremely popular and i have done 3 so far for another site.

  73. Rasputin says:

    Great stuff everyone – the British Bunker Mentality – I love it 🙂

    It was a great shame about NN, especially when ave’s ‘resignation’ was published to the world.

    kelsey, I don’t think you can ban all swear words, just the gratuitous offensive stuff. The greaty thing about blogging is that it is a release valve for your frustrations.

    I don’t mind naming other sites on here at the moment because it has to form part of the general discussion.

  74. London says:

    BR

    I am very happy with the idea, just a bit frustrated, hence the sarcasm, that this could have been done so easily yesterday morning.

  75. Irishgunner says:

    “the British Bunker Mentality” – British AND IRISH Mentality 😉

    Nadal, Murray game is good except for the score

  76. Rasputin says:

    I stand corrected Irish 😳

    I nominate Irish as the ‘Enforcer’ 😆

  77. Irishgunner says:

    😆 I could patrol the site

    You going to the Manc game Rasp?

  78. peachesgooner says:

    rasp are you blogging on the fork-lift 😉

  79. peachesgooner says:

    Irish you’d have to stay up all night and sleep instead of going to the beach 😦

  80. peachesgooner says:

    rico – come and talk to us please – what do you want to do?

  81. Rasputin says:

    No Irish, peaches is going I believe. I am incredibly superstitious and won’t go to certain games … the spuds in particular after the 4:4

  82. Rasputin says:

    I reckon rico will get in touch in her own good time – she knows she’s missed 😦

  83. Big Raddy says:

    I totally agree with you London, and that makes me very sad.

  84. Rasputin says:

    BTW – we’re not going to sign anyone are we?

  85. peachesgooner says:

    Oh rasp – its only tuesday theres a whole 7 days to go until the window closes ……

    What d’you want to bet Nikki plays against Villa and hes waiting to see how that comes off……

  86. Irishgunner says:

    Why would I have to stay up all night?

  87. peachesgooner says:

    To be the enforcer………in oz anyway…..

  88. Irishgunner says:

    I could be night enforcer 😉

  89. kelsey says:

    and of course we could talk about theo 😉 60K a week give him another 4 years to come to the fore +12 million we will have payed for him makes a tidy sum.

  90. Rasputin says:

    Does anyone know if/when Song & EE are coming back? They must be terribly torn. It would be great to have them back for the weekend.

  91. peachesgooner says:

    I read that Arsene was pleased that Theo was unhappy about Arsh not passing to him last week against Bolton – it showed his maturity 🙂

  92. peachesgooner says:

    The question is would Arsene insist they return now that their respective countries are out of the competition – what can he reasonably expect them to do, if they were in the final they wouldn’t be returning until next week……..

  93. Irishgunner says:

    I’m sure they are on their way back Rasp, if they are back by tomorrow hey should be okay for Sunday?

  94. peachesgooner says:

    London – if you’re still there, I’m going out in an hour and so if alfa wanted to chat he’d need to put on a comment so that I could let him on in case rasp is fork-lifting. Can you mention it to him?

  95. Irishgunner says:

    Do you think Chelsea are thinking that Peaches??? Hell No Drogba and Kalou will be back in training asap – although saying that they have cover…

  96. peachesgooner says:

    No Irish, I don’t think Chelsea are thinking that at all but I do think that Arsene might think that way……..

  97. Irishgunner says:

    Which isn’t good for us 😦

  98. peachesgooner says:

    Sadly you’re right, just offering a mindset really, maybe I’m completely wrong and hes already told them to get their arses but here ‘toute suite’ 😉

  99. peachesgooner says:

    How do you feel about Villa – they conceded 4 last week to Blackburn ……..

  100. Irishgunner says:

    I think we should beat them.

    They aren’t as bad as they were at the turn of last year but they are having a slightly off period – saying that they have the capabilities to pull one out of the bag.

    I’d say 1-3 to us.

  101. Big Raddy says:

    I see a high intensity game. We need to maintain a high pace through midfield and attack.

    AV have a varied attack which plays into our hands (IMO), we can cope with the speed of Young and Angabanga, and the power of Heskey or Carew. My concern is Milner, who will destroy Denilson.

    I am quite positive about it and will be surprised if we Villa Park leave empty handed.

  102. Rasputin says:

    It’s being reported that ……

    Manure have pipped us to the signing of Smalling 😦

    Flamini has said he wants out and intends to join a London club – that’ll be the spuds then 😦

    The African boys will be back soon 🙂

    Arsene blames the big spending of the chavs and citeh for our having to resort to a ‘youf policy’ – nothing to do with our finances then? 😕

  103. Irishgunner says:

    Fans are a funny lot.

    When Wenger was thinking of signing Chamackh he wasn’t good enough and didn’t score enough goals – then when it was reported Liverpool had beat us to the signing there was blue murder.

    Now it seems the same for Smalling….

    I’ll believe the transfer when I see it, SSN “understands” a lot of things….

  104. Big Raddy says:

    Flam could well go to the Chavs as a replacement for Essien. Could he come back to us? Would AW go for a player who really screwed him over. Had Flamini been clear in his intentions, AW would have definitely played Diarra and our DM problems would have been solved.

    I hope Flamini goes to the WHU or Brentford.

    Smalling ? King’s New Clothes…… yet another player no-one had heard of 2 months ago. €7m is a tidy sum, and if he does go to MU, well, we can’t sign everyone when we have a policy of signing players t long-term contracts. Which is another reason to thank Flamini ….. grrrrr

  105. Rasputin says:

    OK, I’ll take that as a no then as regards Flamini and Smalling 😕

  106. alfamilano says:

    Hi all, especially Peaches and Rasp – good for you, keeping the flame alive.

  107. Rasputin says:

    Hi alfa,

    Great to hear from you, sorry you went into mod – it happens to us all at first 🙂

  108. Rasputin says:

    Ave, email me please…… I won’t contact you because I don’t know how you are feeling and it might not be welcome…..

  109. Irishgunner says:

    Its not a No Rasp but its hardly something to get too upset over.

    Flamini is now a journeyman who cares about signing on fees over anything else while Smalling has played ONCE in the EPL – not worth getting into a bidding war over imo

  110. Rasputin says:

    You’re not always right Irish … Murray won …Nadal injury 😆

    I agree about Smalling, but I’d have liked to have seen Flamini even with Song back. He’d give 100% effort fr the rest of the season and then WE can let HIM go in the summer 👿

  111. Irishgunner says:

    Poor Rafa 😦 Someone so cute doesn’t deserve to go out so early …… am I meant some tennis terms for why he shouldn’t have gone out 8)

    Ha ha yeah Rasp, you leave when we say you can leave Flamini…. 👿

  112. Irishgunner says:

    Right my watch as enforcer is over I’m off to bed, night night all.

  113. Rasputin says:

    Haha … Ferdinand has been charged with violent conduct after an incident in the Hull game and will miss the Arsenal game unless he appeals the charge.

  114. peachesgooner says:

    I’ve just noticed on Arse.com that Arsene expects Theo to be back to his best in 6 weeks – are you listening Theo you have to play for 6 weeks now…….

  115. Rasputin says:

    Is his best good enough?

    We have our first choice back four available for Villa tomorrow ….

    Wilshire definitely going out on loan … destination to be announced soon

    Any mention of us in relation to signing Buffon is a joke 😦

  116. Rasputin says:

    All the TV coverage is going to be about the ‘manc derby’ 2nd episode … its as if we don’t exist!

  117. Rasputin says:

    I’m going to put up a full list of name suggestions soon … I don’t think you’re all taking this seriously 😆

  118. peachesgooner says:

    I’m taking this very seriously 😆

  119. Rasputin says:

    “The Inconvincibles” 😕
    “Dodgy Lasagna”

  120. Rasputin says:

    One for London …. “Loaded Guns” 😎

  121. peachesgooner says:

    ‘The Exiles’

  122. peachesgooner says:

    ‘Wandering Gooners’

  123. peachesgooner says:

    ‘Off another blog’

  124. peachesgooner says:

    ‘Gooners off another blog’

  125. alfamilano says:

    Call me old fashioned but I’ve detected a certain … bias among some of the leading lights here for players whose talents extend beyond football. You know who you are 😉 .

    So how about ‘Nice Arse_nal’? 😳 I’ll get me coat.

  126. peachesgooner says:

    No alfa – its all about the legs 😛 😀 😆

  127. peachesgooner says:

    ‘Chocolate Legs’

  128. peachesgooner says:

    Back in a while 🙂

  129. alfamilano says:

    Thinking a bit more seriously about the name, I like the Pride of London theme. And I like it that people from all over the world are on all the time.

    Still thinking 😕

  130. alfamilano says:

    Would ‘No.2 Avenell Road’ come across as a tribute or a wind up? Meant with respect.

  131. alfamilano says:

    ‘Highbury Housemates’?

    I must have something better to do 🙂

  132. Big Raddy says:

    Top Gun

    Talk Arsenal 6 (TA6)

    One Team in London

    N5 1BU

    Arsenal Opinion

    The Arsenal Community

    mmmmmm

  133. London says:

    Are there any favourites developing?

  134. kelsey says:

    A refined Arse

    The Barnet Boys

    Arsing all over the world

  135. alfamilano says:

    London, what’s your favourite?

  136. Big Raddy says:

    The Magic Hat (for GG)

    Same Old Arsenal…..

    Gooner Gossip (I quite like this one)

    The Gooner Grapevine

  137. Rasputin says:

    Wengerball

    Club Class

    Oo-to-be

    Gooner Gossip is good Raddy 😉

  138. Rasputin says:

    kelsey … those are disgusting 🙄

  139. Rasputin says:

    Spuds 1 up at half time, Bolton lucky to be 1 up on Burnley … 2 results I’d love to see reversed. Pool currently nil nil.

  140. peachesgooner says:

    We definitely need Fulham to remember what to do in the 2nd half……

    What are disgusting rasp I’m going to look – watch out kelsey 😉

  141. peachesgooner says:

    No need to ask London for his favourite its bound to be ‘Londons Pride’ or ‘The Pride of London’ 😆

  142. Rasputin says:

    Red & White Review?

    Gooners-R-us?

    By Far The Greatest?

  143. peachesgooner says:

    rasp – have you put up your absolute favourite yet…………..

  144. kelsey says:

    Dial Square

    Gooners-R-us? nice one rasp

  145. Rasputin says:

    I haven’t got one yet … what about you?

  146. Rasputin says:

    Lucky b’stard Bentley, massive deflection from his free kick – spuds 2 nil up 👿

  147. peachesgooner says:

    “Red Gunners”

  148. peachesgooner says:

    I really don’t want them to be fourth………….even if we win the title – I don’t want them to be fourth……….that would be so wrong 😦

  149. Rasputin says:

    One team in London?

  150. peachesgooner says:

    Yes – I think thats the one…………

  151. Rasputin says:

    Hull held pool to a draw

  152. London says:

    I like “OOoh to be” I’m not sure of the spelling. It’s always been my little code that I would write at the bottom of a card or a letter if I know the recipient was one of us.

    That said I am open to persuasion.

  153. peachesgooner says:

    Rasp likes ‘Ooh to be……..’ too London

  154. London says:

    I think his spelling is better.

  155. London says:

    BR’s “Gooner Gossip” is possibly more functional.

  156. London says:

    Oo-to-be

    I like the hyphens

    It would look good on a tee shirt, or on most merchandising come to think about it.

  157. peachesgooner says:

    I think there’ll be a shortlist by Friday and then we can vote……..

  158. London says:

    Makes sense, see ya tomorrow.

  159. peachesgooner says:

    We’re having technical problems and can’t put up a new post at the moment – please bear with us and carry on chatting together until we do.

    Thanks 🙂

  160. kelsey says:

    supporters that reckon Walcott has no chance of going to the world cup are clueless.On 60K a week he can easily afford the tickets… 🙂

  161. peachesgooner says:

    Morning all

    New Post……………..

Leave a Reply

