Let’s Forget What Arsene Didn’t Do And Concentrate On What He Can Do

Okay, so we didn’t sign anyone.

Some people wanted a new keeper, others wanted a defensive midfielder while a hell of a lot wanted a striker.

Actually I got that first line wrong, we did sign somebody, Sol came back!

Yep, it mightn’t exactly be as exiting as AA23 last January but Sol looks as tough as ever. Not too bad a guy to have on the bench if you ask me.

Just for a day lets forget about the lack of activity in the transfer window and have a look at what changes Wenger can make to the squad and starting XI.

Most would agree that Almunia has had a shocking season.

He doesn’t know whether to come off his line, if he does he flaps at it. He’s not commanding and couldn’t organise a nun-shoot in aΒ nunneryΒ never mind his defence.

I’m still at a loss as to how Mannone went from having a more than decent spell in goals to not even been on the bench anymore.

Wenger knows more than any of us about their state of mind and how they train but I saw nothing so bad from Mannone that warranted him going from playing every week to not been on the bench.

Fabianski has become Flappy No2 to Almunia’s Flappy No1. Whatever happened to Arsene giving players a chance and if they do well keeping them in the side?

At the back I think we are okay – despite the silly goals.

Vermaelen and Gallas have been awesome all season. Sagna has been decent at the back but average going forward.

Left-back seems to be a problem but I feel it comes more from midfield than anything else.

On the right, Sagna gets cover from Rosicky, Eboue or Bendtner when they are in front of him. Clichy doesn’t get the same from Arshavin, Diaby or lately Nasri – this has to be looked at.

Another problem is Denilson.

I actually quite like him as a squad player. He is often quietly effective but lately he has just been quiet. It has gotten to the point where we are often playing with ten men on the pitch because he is so….well, useless.

I’ve made my suggestion well known that I think Super Tom could play that role. In fact I’d suggest Wenger should try a different midfield against the Chavs, one which mixes defending with attack.

Song would take up his usual role in front of the back four and be under orders to stay there. Ventures up field would be kept to a minimum.

Denilson would be dropped to the bench and Rosicky would become the link player.

The Czech is aggressive in the tackle, disciplined and has one hell of an eye for the pass – so why not?

Cesc would be there doing his thing while on the right of the front three I’d go with the African Pele.

Eboue has come on a lot from last season. Tries his heart out and can defend and attack, so why not put him out on the right wing?

Give Cashley some defending to do while also making it difficult for him going forward as he’ll be playing against two full backs.

Lets face it, Eboue is a better option at the moment than Walcott.

If Bendtner is fit, he should start as CF.

Chelsea suffer from the same flapperitis as our goalkeepers. Cech is really not the same keeper as a few seasons back. The way to get at the Chavs is to get in crosses – at least Bendtner is tall and can head a ball.

Trying to play through Chelsea is difficult cos they will crowd the midfield but spread it wide, cross it in and make Nikki put Flappy Chav under pressure and see what happens.

Its also time to move Arshavin back to the wing.

He’s not a main striker and I wonder whether his greed against Manchester United came about from him being under pressure to score as opposed to him being a gloryseeker?

In short my team for Chelsea would be:

Almunia

Sagna

Vermaelen

Gallas

Clichy

Song

Rosicky

Fabregas

Eboue

Bendtner

Arshavin

I’d rather see Mannone or a scarecrow with extra big gloves in goals but he’ll stick with Almunia.

I’ll stop rambling now!

Just to fill you in: Eduardo is out of the Chelsea game. So too is Vela but its not like he’d play. Diaby is a “maybe” and Wenger has decided not to sign Stefan Savic after all.

Your thoughts….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

77 Responses to Let’s Forget What Arsene Didn’t Do And Concentrate On What He Can Do

  1. alfamilano says:

    Irish, I can’t see how to improve on that team. Agree Arshavin has got to go back to the wing. Hopefully Eboue and Bendtner will give us a bit of muscle.

  2. alfamilano says:

    Smart post by the way

  3. Big Raddy says:

    Fine start to the day Irish.

    I agree that Eboue should start ahead of Denilson, but will AW? As you say, EE has played well this season, though with absolutely no end product. He has boundless energy, is great in the tackle, skillful and quick. If he could be taught to keep a clear head when he approaches the opposition 18 yd line, he could become a first choice player again.

    I am unconvinced about your Rosicky argument. He offers too much elsewhere to be a DM,and he would need to cover when Song ventures forward – not a natural response for TR. though I would play him over Denilson .

    Hopefully AW will change things around and include another striker – either Nik or Theo, Alternating them on 70 mins.

  4. irishgunner says:

    Yep Alfa I think Arshavin is better of cutting in from the left or even as a second striker but not as a main striker. It worked against Stoke but I think that was really it.

    Raddy – Yeah I know Rosicky would want to venture forward and not stay back, that’s why I banned Song from any ventures.

    For once in my life I actually hope Wenger plays Eboue. Cashley has been dangerous going down the left for the Chavs this season. Sometimes Eboue gets it right – not too often but enough that I’d start him over Theo on the right of the three.

  5. peachesgooner says:

    Morning all

    Thanks Irish for a great post.

    If Song and Super Tom could come to some sort of understanding about going forward then I think it could work. Tom is the more creative of the two and he can score whereas Song is trying to develop that side of his game but as we saw against Man U even getting into great positions he doesn’t have scoring boots.

  6. London says:

    Good Morning/Night Irish

    That was a very good read, there are a couple of things that really made me chuckle: a nun shoot in a nunnery, I wondered if this was a common expression in Ireland or is it one of your own, either way it is very funny.
    The other one that I really like is the idea of preferring a scare crow with big gloves to Almunia….hilarious.

  7. London says:

    Re Rosicky: I suggested this idea a few months ago and it was met with derision, I have since changed my own mind as I am no longer convinced that he has the engine to play such a demanding midfield role; he struggles out on the wing for ninety minutes let alone the midfield, still, I certainly understand why you suggested it.

  8. irishgunner says:

    Peaches: There is probably a good reason Wenger hasn’t tried Super Tom as a holding midfielder (not defensive) but I do think he could do it. He has the discipline.

    As for Song, he has scored some decent goals for us. Last year against Wigan and away to Pompey (I think?? the header) this term. But his defensive game is more important although if he could weigh in with some headers it’d be good cos we lack them.

    London: I robbed it from Fr.Ted. Bishop Brennan told Ted to campaign against a film and it didn’t do well and the Bishop tells Ted he “couldn’t organise a nun shoot in a nunnery” great line.

    The favourite one in Ireland is “He couldn’t organise a piss up in a brewery”

  9. peachesgooner says:

    alfa – you’re a star, but can we keep it somewhere else until tmoro……

  10. irishgunner says:

    That is another thing London – his fitness. Has he played 90mins since he came back? I don’t think he has.

  11. Rasputin says:

    Morning all,

    Top draw post Irish πŸ˜‰

    I agree 100% about Mannone. A few days ago I listed his stats from last year. Played 8, won 6, drew 2, no losses, 4 clean sheets and MoM against Fulham. In that Fulham game he won the team an extra 2 points by a string of amazing saves.

    Almunia has already lost us upwards of 6 points I’d say (enough to make us top of the league) and I can never remember him giving a MoM performance.

    Wierdly (although not so weird in the Arsene GK world) Mannone was replaced by Fabianski for the pool game and then Almunia came back.

    What more coud Mannone have done? – there is no justice 😦

  12. irishgunner says:

    Rasp – what confuses me no end is how Fabianski is now number 2 ahead of Mannone.

    With Almunia we also half expected and half dreaded he’d be made number one again but Fabianski came back from injury and right into the squad.

    I wonder why Mannone signed the new deal. If I were him I’d wonder why the boss lost faith so quickly and I reckon off the back of his few performances could have got a lower league team in Italy or Spain, even France. He should be playing a lot more than what he is. Does he even turn out for the reserves anymore?

  13. Rasputin says:

    Mannone conceded 2 goals in the first 15 minutes (neither his fault) but he showed great character and kept well for the remainder of the game which as we know, we won 2:3.

    He has that essential GK characteristic – he’s mad as a box of frogs. Unlike Almunia who always looks terrified these days, ‘Mad Mannone’ is fearless. It’s good when strikers worry that ‘that big bastard of a GK is going to come out and flatten me’ and that’s the sort of persona Mannone has. With Almunia, they must think he’s there to be bullied.

  14. irishgunner says:

    Almunia doesn’t really protect himself.

    I know some keepers use it to injure the opposition which I don’t agree with, but putting your knee up is one of the first rules of goalkeeping when coming for a high ball, Mooney gets clobbered cos he doesn’t do it.

  15. peachesgooner says:

    I love that analogy ‘mad as a box of frogs’ and it does apply to good goalkeepers. Almunia can’t organise, doesn’t shout and isn’t very good at his job…..one of those strange decisions.

    Irish – alfa has put a ‘we’ve moved’ post up on top of yours and we haven’t moved yet but can you copy and paste your post onto ‘Arsenal Arsenal’so that if anyone clicks on there at least its up to date. I’m trying to find alfa to ask him to hold it somewhere.

  16. irishgunner says:

    Okey Doke Peaches – let me see if I can do that. two mins

  17. Rasputin says:

    Mannone even looks scary, I’m sure he had a bit part in ‘Shaun of the Dead’

  18. irishgunner says:

    Remember when he saved that shot with his face against Fulham and he said “It just made me more ugly” πŸ˜†

    That’s done Peaches

  19. Rasputin says:

    Peaches – I’ve emailed you a couple of graphics

  20. peachesgooner says:

    London is lost – someone see if hes on Arsenal Arsenal and help him back here please

  21. irishgunner says:

    I think he’s stuck in the “we’ve moved” post, there is no comment on Arsenal Arsenal

  22. alfamilano says:

    Sorry for the confusion all. Peaches, glad you like the post. I thought I had posted it so that only us admins can see it, as a private post. I’ve checked and if I’m not logged on I can’t see it so hopefully the world at large can’t either. If it’s a problem I’ll remove it immediately.

    London, by all means forward my email details to peaches and anyone else in the group.

  23. alfamilano says:

    Sky are saying Diaby might be back for Sunday. What would that do to your team Irish?

    Selection dilemmas – what a luxury!

  24. Big Raddy says:

    Bit confusing for an old man!!

    Mannone is not ready to play at SB in my opinion. It is the wrong game to promote him over Fabianski. And as Fabianski was so awful at Stoke, I don’t think we can give him the gloves on Sunday. Therefore we are left with the Clown.

    Can we win the title with MA in goal?. I don’t believe so. As has been said, the first goal last Sunday was vital, and MA’s part in it showed why we need a first rate GK.

  25. Big Raddy says:

    Alfa- If Diaby is fit, he is a must. TR on the bench.

    Clichy has been struggling due to lack of back up when going forward, he received little protection from Denilson. With Nik playing centrally, and AA back to the Left, Clichy isn’t solely responsible for attacks on that side of the pitch.

  26. irishgunner says:

    I’d keep my team as it is because I don’t think Diaby plays as well beside Cesc – but then the same problem could arise with Super Tom and Cesc.

    We all know Arsene won’t play my team ha ha so I reckon he’ll play Diaby instead of Denilson. Rosicky, Bendtner and Arshavin as the front three.

  27. alfamilano says:

    I’ve trashed it now as you can all see, but can resurrect at a moment’s notice.

  28. irishgunner says:

    That’s our problem isn’t it Raddy – we really don’t have a proper number one, one we can be confident in.

  29. Rasputin says:

    Morning alfa,

    Arsene normally benches players who are coming back from injury and gives them the last 20 minutes or so. We need to press Chelsea right from the word go and put doubt in their minds, so I’d like to see Diaby start.

    It’s going to be interesting. There are 3 things that it seems everyone bar Arsene thinks need addressing. 1 – Almunia, 2 – Denilson and 3 – play AA wide and try Nik in the middle. I’m betting on 0 out of 3 😦

    I’m off till much later folks. If anyone has good relations with other Arsenal blogs and think they may be able to persuade them to put up a link to the new site, then please pipe up. Links don’t have to imply an agreement on standpoint, just mutual respect.

    Peaches, we’ll obviously have to have a reciprocal link back – I’m sure you and our new net guru alfa can arrange that πŸ˜†

  30. alfamilano says:

    Happy to help with links, feeds, pictures, maybe a post one day, whatever helps. I’m still learning wordpress so bear with me. πŸ™‚

  31. irishgunner says:

    Plyes Palmer reckons we only got Β£6.8mil for Henry.

  32. peachesgooner says:

    Thanks alfa – it didn’t need to be trashed – I couldn’t see where it was to take it off myself. Do you know how to put it into drafts? If you copy and paste it into a new post and save it as a draft I can get to it later, simples πŸ™‚

  33. irishgunner says:

    Compare the meerkat.com, compare the market.com SIMPLES!!

  34. alfamilano says:

    peaches, I’ve saved it as a draft now. Hopefully you can see that. If you can see it, I think you can publish it from there yourself, but if you want me to do it then just tell me what time tomorrow you want it to go out.

    Once London wakes up he might get one of the messages I’ve sent him and forward my email on to you – don’t want to put it on here for the spammers.

  35. peachesgooner says:

    Did London find his way back – he disclosed last year that he and his son love that advert…….

  36. irishgunner says:

    I love that advert too – very, very clever.

  37. peachesgooner says:

    alfa – I have your email address as it comes up in the dashboard so I’ll go ahead and send you one …..

  38. irishgunner says:

    “Clever” – Did I spell it right??

    Ever look at a word and think “That’s not how you spell it” but it is….

  39. London says:

    When I wake up? Helloooo, I have two young children.

  40. peachesgooner says:

    Thank goodness you’re back – I had a vision of you wandering around in the dashboards from site to site, it’ll all be clearer tomorrow.

    Rasp and I got carried away doing the graphics and trying out the header on different themes and we need to take a vote on the new name. All the graphics can be adapted for another name so it won’t be a problem if we choose to change anything. We need to decide by this evening so that everything is ready to go in the morning.

  41. peachesgooner says:

    alfa – did you have anything to do with making the email contact on here a link? If so can you do the same on ‘Arsenal Arsenal’ please – I’ve set up an email account but I thought it went blue by magic 😦

  42. alfamilano says:

    peaches it wasn’t me. Generally if you type in something that looks like an email address or a web site address then wordpress will turn it into a link – like magic. The clever bit is making a picture or a phrase turn into a link – that doesn’t happen by magic although it isn’t hard once you know how.

  43. peachesgooner says:

    Ok – maybe it’ll do it itself a bit later then by magic πŸ™‚

  44. irishgunner says:

    It should turn blue straight away though Peaches πŸ˜•

  45. alfamilano says:

    Got to go but I will look at it later.

  46. irishgunner says:

    β€œThird place is where we stand today, and that is already a great success for Arsenal when you take into account the class of our eleven players,’ said Arshavin. ‘Of course, we try to win every match, but class is class.
    β€œIf Arsenal want to become champions, how can they select Arshavin as centre forward?’ he said. ‘I am 173cm (5ft 7in) and it suits me, but next to the big centre halves of United it is very difficult to fight for the ball, especially in the air.”

    Oh dear AA – truth but le boss might not be happy.

    I’m off to bed folks, later.

  47. peachesgooner says:

    You have to hand it to him – hes trying to get a point across to the boss and like the rest of us it seems to fall on deaf ears 😦

  48. peachesgooner says:

    Sorry, I thought you went ages ago, night Irish

  49. irishgunner says:

    The curses of youtube Peaches watch one video and you watch a million – its 1am bedtime.

  50. Big Raddy says:

    Interesting quote from AA. “when you take into account the class of our 11 players”? What is he trying to say?

    & if he hadn’t been so greedy, we would have been two up in the first 20 minutes, and coasting.

  51. Big Raddy says:

    Night Irish

  52. peachesgooner says:

    As it was quiet I thought I’d put the poll up to vote on the naming of the site – only its come up at the top of the page, very annoying – bear with me I’ll try and get rid of it up there and move it down here πŸ˜‰

  53. peachesgooner says:

    AA is saying what some of us have said which is that some players might not be good enough to play in our team at the moment – not good for the dressing room though. AA has been outspoken before and if it hasn’t been stamped on I predict he’ll continue to be outspoken.

  54. peachesgooner says:

    I can’t move the poll – so please vote for the name you would like us to use. If you press the home button it’ll come up on top of this post. Thanks πŸ˜‰

  55. alfamilano says:

    Hi peaches, I’m back. I’ve turned the arsenalarsenal contact email blue. Had to put the code in manually for some reason, don’t know why but it seems to work now.

  56. peachesgooner says:

    Thanks alfa – have you voted?

  57. peachesgooner says:

    Excellent

  58. Rasputin says:

    Hi all,

    Peaches, I’ve done a banner for Ooo-To-Be and Arsenal Comment – perhaps you’d like to put them up top so people can see for themselves.

    I desparately want the site to be democratic and shared by all so I’m sorry if it looks like I got carried away with one name, it was just that I wanted to play with ideas.

  59. Rasputin says:

    Arshavin speaks the truth by the way ……..

  60. peachesgooner says:

    No-one doubts that he speaks the truth – sometimes the truth hurts…………

  61. peachesgooner says:

    Hi all – 2 new title banners up on the other 2 sites.

    rasp – the banner for ooo-to-be has shrunk, did you have to shrink it to get everything on?

  62. Rasputin says:

    No, I didn’t shrink it and it doesn’t look smaller on my screen.

    Raddy and London, I’d like to know your preference. This is an important decision, so we can delay going live until sunday. Clever clogs peaches and alfa (the engine room) have found a way to transfer all these really good posts onto the new site so that visitors can read back at what we’ve been saying.

  63. Rasputin says:

    I’ve put in a couple of different slogans – they’re a bit corny but I can re-write them or swap them around

  64. peachesgooner says:

    ok I’ll try and load it again then……

    Very important – On le grove there is a link to a government petition that we should all be thinking about signing – its to do with links and file sharing which is important to everyone who uses the internet. Have a look – if I knew how to put the link up I would 😳

  65. peachesgooner says:

    The both look great – maybe we should have family of blogs πŸ˜‰

    I’ve just realised you said that it looks fine on yours so I’ll not bother to load it again

  66. peachesgooner says:

    Raddy – if you reappear I wanted you to put your post up now otherwise I get the credit if I put it up…….

  67. London says:

    Just put “written by BR” at the bottom.

  68. Rasputin says:

    Hi London,

    Did you see the Ooo-To-Be banner?

  69. Rasputin says:

    …..it’s on the arsenalarsenal site…. gotta go out now…..

  70. London says:

    Am I supposed to click on “My Dashboards” then on “Arsenal Arsenal” and the banner with “Ooo-to-be” will appear, because if that is the case then it is not working.

  71. Rasputin says:

    I don’t know why its not working for you London – it does for the rest of us…. I’ll get ‘the engine room’ to look into it for you..

  72. peachesgooner says:

    What do you get then London?

  73. peachesgooner says:

    Go to My Dashboards – click on arsenalarsenal and then ‘visit site’ and you’ll be at the Arsenal Arsenal site like you were this morning only at the moment its called OOO-TO-BE……………….

  74. Big Raddy says:

    Works for me. There seems to be a majority for Arsenal Arsenal, which I am happy with.

    Peaches I will put up the post a little later as there are a couple of tweaks needed.

    So… John Terry sacked as England Captain. How refreshing is Capello ? The only minus is the prospect of Rio as the England Captain going into the WC – the man is hardly literate. Perhaps Capello will make Beckham the Captain through the WC, he has experience, is the most media friendly man on the planet, is loved by almost everyone (some notable exceptions!!) and it will be his swansong. That would be my call….. problem is he would be a non-playing Captain and we need someone on the pitch. So Becks for team cpt. with ????? on field. I cannot think of a single man who I would give the job to. They are without exception a bunch of immoral, arrogant prima donnas. If David James get a game he would be my choice

  75. peachesgooner says:

    What a terrible thing that of all the players in our World Cup squad there is no-one that we would want to be the captain.

    I’m with you on Beckham hes a great ambassador for England – even if he doesn’t get games there are plenty of leaders on the pitch – Beckham could be the face of England – I’d much rather see him lift the trophy than any of the others.

Leave a Reply

